Nerd Summer & Dreams

Segue! I tried reading three books that each ended up being really disappointing. So much so, I dropped them from my Goodreads bookshelves. Like, I’m gonna pretend that those books aren’t totally sitting on my real-life bookshelf right now. Now, I’m reading a book series I’ve been itching to reread since before grad school. Harry Potter, of course. I won’t say how long it took me to read the first book; certainly longer than it should have. I was savoring.

I’m writing about this because I’ve discovered that 2013 is a big year in nerd culture. September 1st marks the fifteenth anniversary of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone‘s US publication. The Doctor is having his fiftieth in November. And, Hellboy is having his twentieth. I could cry. In fact, as I read the first pages of Sorcerer’s Stone, I held back a few tears as I read about Harry being left on the Dursley’s front porch, knowing what happened to his parents, and to Sirius.

So, I’m adding a third thing for myself to do this year:

  1. Watch Doctor Who (from the ninth Doctor to the twelfth. I’m lazy and don’t have those other DVDs.).
  2. Read all of the Harry Potter series, as you may have guessed.
  3. And, read all of my Hellboy comics and watch the movies (not just I and II, but the animated ones, too). I’ll also be crossing my fingers that the Hellboy III talk isn’t just a lot of smoke akin to the Firefly teasing.

A nerd triathlon.

I hope to do other things, too. I don’t want to say “more productive” or “more constructive” things. But, other, exciting things. I discovered a comic book studies program in Dundee, Scotland. I’ve talked a bit to the program head and the administration liaison for US students. I don’t feel good (yet) about my chances of getting in. I have no right to feel that way. But, I feel good about applying. It sounds fantastic, like exactly what I’ve been waiting for.

I’ve written posts like the above paragraph before and felt disgusting defeat when rejection letters (actually, rejection e-mails) got tossed my way. So, to abate that eventuality, I’ll drown myself in fiction and fantasy. And, learning the harp.

Oh, one more thing. Utah is having its first comic-con, the Salt Lake Comic-Con. This will be my first, too. I got my ticket for Friday and I hope to be going in the attire of my people: cosplay. If I have the money in time, I will be cosplaying as a gender-swapped Dr. Vincent Morrow. If I can’t get it together, though, Harry Potter did provide me some inspiration: I’ll go dressed as a witch dressed as a muggle. Remember? From Goblet of Fire?

One of them was a very old wizard who was wearing a long flowery nightgown. The other was clearly a Ministry wizard; he was holding out a pair of pinstriped trousers and almost crying with exasperation.
“Just put them on, Archie, there’s a good chap. You can’t walk around like that, the Muggle at the gate’s already getting suspicious”
“I bought this in a Muggle shop,” said the old wizard stubbornly. “Muggles wear them.”
“Muggle women wear them, Archie, not the men, they wear these,” said the Ministry wizard, and he brandished the pinstriped trousers.
“I’m not putting them on,” said old Archie in indignation. “I like a healthy breeze ’round my privates, thanks.”

Good times.

Related articles

4 thoughts on “Nerd Summer & Dreams

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter vs. Jacquel Rassenworth/April-Dawn Potter (written 2/28/2011) | The Jacquel Rassenworth Blog

  2. Pingback: Why Harry Potter Should Have Married a Muggle | The Blog That Made No Sense

Leave a Reply

