Anybody who is both pretty and smart are monsters to be feared and eventually staked.

Nerd rage. The other day a friend of mine (who, should she read this, I want to know that I’m not upset with her or her opinions, because she has the right to have them and put on Facebook anything she damn well pleases) posted an article on Facebook about schools in the country that have both good-looking and intelligent students. I took umbrage with the article as the self-proclaimed “Ugly Girl,” who has been informed (at least once) that being an unattractive individual is an advantage, as it has forced me to become intelligent and will have a more fulfilled life. So an article from the Business Insider explaining how there are a lot of people as smart as I am, if not smarter, who are a lot prettier, and are therefore of greater value to our society and future of our planet is bound to piss me off. Finding it on Facebook reinforces just how much value is still placed on physical attractiveness, as opposed to intelligence on its own.

I replied to the post and submitted it to “School of Fail” on Cheezburger. The idea of the article bothered me that much.

Screen shot 2013-03-24 at 3.37.37 PM

 

This could have made it to my FB news feed because she thought it was ridiculous enough to point out and laugh at. Tone, as you know, is difficult to discern from text on the internet. It made it to the front page of the site, which gave me a nerd-boost, which slammed against the ceiling and dribbled down when I read this (of course I read the comments of the stuff I submit. Who doesn’t?):

Screen shot 2013-03-24 at 3.40.33 PM

 

I replied to it (of course I did), “Way to reinforce the moronic point made by the Business Insider’s article, you pretentious, intellectually stunted, shallow douche. In order for you to try to figure out how exactly you missed the point of the School of Fail post, I recommend you look up what logical fallacies are, as you’ve demonstrated the use of at least three: False Authority (“I live in Utah, I know the general type of girls…” blah, blah, blah, you’re a dip-shit), Ad Hominem, and “Shifting the Issue.” While you’re attempting self-education, it might help you to know that Mark Twain, aka Samuel Clemens, mostly–if not always–spoke tongue-in-cheek. All you’ve done is display your idiocy. Luckily, though, in this case it was only for millions of strangers on the internet. What you must be like in person may be more disturbing than the original article, if this is how you choose to represent yourself and your pseudo-knowledge.”

I may have gone over the edge a little. Chances are this person is too young to really get the point of the picture or is, as I claim above, too stupid and shallow to get it and should be pitied. Or, I shouldn’t have gone over the edge as I should try more to represent myself as an educated individual. I can salvage this, though, at least in my mind. Tomorrow, I’m teaching fallacies, so I’ll offer the original post, comment, and my rebuttal as examples, not recognizing my own hypocrisy.

More than likely, I’ll do this again.

 

Leave a Reply

