More of An Elder God

I had a few students telling me that you’re not stupid if you don’t read for leisure. They cited math, the piano, and watching movies with subtitles (movies in English with English subtitles. I originally thought he was talking about foreign films with English subtitles. Nope. He said he wasn’t trying to be a smart-ass. I said that there wasn’t anything smart about it).

All of those things that they cited are different forms of language. If you do any of those things for leisure, you are reading for leisure. Which, I’m sure that, but for a few, don’t do anyway.

I ought to be more patient, more kind, and more benevolent. But, I am not that kind of pagan god.

Leave a Reply

