There’s Bacon in the SOPA

I’m taking a braided essay seminar this semester. It’s with my favorite professor. I already knew, mostly, what I will be. One strand would be Jack the Ripper analysis, specifically of his canonical letters, and another would be stories from when I was a child. No, nothing murderous. The final strand is one that I had difficulty with. At first I was going to try to do a site visit at a funeral home here in Logan, but they won’t get back to me. Next, I thought I would look at the plastic surgery statistics in Utah, intimating the apparent hypocrisy in a culture that is against tattoos and body piercings, but is “okay” with augmenting physical attributes. I find this curious because tattoos and piercings don’t change, really, the person: what they look like, who they are, etc. But, plastic surgery or “cosmetic surgery” is about denial of the true self and changing it. I would be interested in looking into that. Maybe later.

Instead I think I’m going to focus my third strand on the recent legislature that is attempting to police piracy, but is actually a tool for censorship. I find the attempt to cross into the one safe haven of information and free-speech interesting, as well as the protests. I get that it doesn’t make sense now, but at the end, if I’m successful, bringing these three ideas together. And, I hope that they will not only make sense, but will be “the only way to tell the story” as my professor would say.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with SOPA/PIPA and now ACTA and are somehow reading my blog, I suggest you educate yourself.

Remember, my lovelies, dystopian societies should only exist in science fiction. Hugo Weaving can’t save us in the real world. No one has the right to take away freedom. Here’s a petition to sign if you’re just as pissed as I am about this.

Also, I want to give credit to the wonderful Alexius. If it wasn’t for him and his webcomic Romantically Apocalyptic, I would either know nothing of these abhorrent attempts at censorship or be very confused by all the chatter.

Leave a Reply

