Featuring My Familiars

I’m going back up to Logan in a little over 12 hours from now. I like being back home so much that I don’t want to go back to school and work. Preemptive homesickness saves time.

Because I’m graduating this semester I’m taking an extra class than I normally would (I did get into the detective novel class thanks to my friend and colleague Diantha. She’s wonderful!) and I’m teaching an online course. Now, I’m new to teaching in general, but teaching online seems daunting. I feel so unprepared and so much like this semester is going to break me. I feel like I won’t be able to get up afterwards. Like I’ll just lie down and let the world and student loan collectors crash down on me. I hate that feeling. And, what’s worse, worse than all of that, is that Oliver (my cat and one of my familiars) just forgave me for being away for so long. It’s been three weeks and now he spends time with me. He’s capricious.

Pretty, though. Then there’s Daisy, who is much more forgiving, but I hate to leave her.

She’s older than the picture, but still pretty damn cute. Doc could take or leave me, all he wants is food. But, I love him regardless.

Cute, huh? I think so.

Anyway, I’m just bummed, I guess, because I’m really close to my parents (you’re a loser, shut up) and I doubt that I’ll get to come home a lot for any of the coming breaks. Also, they’re truckers, so even if I did get to come home, chances are they won’t be home. It sucks, I’m a whiner, whatever.

 

Leave a Reply

